1-2-3 Ready to Go

St. Edward's University senior to graduate May 2013. Kxan News intern for SP'13. Aspiring reporter writing about Austin news, entertainment, food, etc.

Most memorable event while in Austin

Leave a comment

264226_10150230307073263_3403568_nAlthough I’m still in my very early twenties, I’ve had the chance to participate in many entertainment events in Spain and here. I’ve had the chance to participate in festivals, fundraising events, celebrity parties, music and film festivals, food contests, movie previews, and sport events and so on. I’ll have to say that while in Austin, one of the events I enjoyed the most was the Davis Cup quarterfinals that took place at the Erwin Center (UT) in July 2011.

Spain was playing against the United States. Therefore, as a good Spaniard I had to go cheer for my country. This was a big challenge for Spain. The United States team lead all other nations with 32 championships and they were playing at Andy Roddick’s hometown which means that there was going to be an overwhelming amount of support versus the Spanish team fans.

 

Everything was well-organized. Parking was tough but as usual when Austin holds big events, there is space in garage parking as long as you pay. There was food and drinks inside, a little overprice but affordable. Although the Erwin Center wasn’t as its full capacity, it was pretty crowded. Probably the fact that this event took place while most people are on vacation made a difference in the attendance expectation.

The main thing that made this event memorable for me was the fact that I was surrounded by Spaniards. I couldn’t go to Spain that summer so that made me feel like I was at home. I could wear my country colors (red and yellow) for a reason, not just because I miss my country. However, what made this event unforgettable was the fact that we won without Rafa Nadal. Although I was excited to meet him, he wasn’t able to come. Many Americans around me were already calling it their victory but to their surprise they lost. I also had the chance to meet members of the team which was also a plus.

Author: Beatriz Parres

Graduated May 2013 from St. Edward's University, in Austin, TX. Bachelor in Arts: Communication major (emphasis on Media Arts and Journalism), with a Spanish minor. Currently a part of the Washington Media Institute summer program and a summer news intern for Fox 5 and The Georgetowner in Washington, D.C. Suggestions are always welcome. I hope you like it, enjoy it!

Leave a comment